A sailor By heart

As the sea is quite, at the twilight time. My ship sails forward disturbing the waves leaving the marks behind.
Standing on the quarterdeck of my ship, holding the rim of my ship with one hand and champagne glass on the other. I look at my shoulders as the last light of the sun, reflects my golden badges. The reflection is brighter than the stars which are on the way to glitter up the night sky.

Suddenly glass slipped from my hands. I can clearly see the glass falling slowly into the sea. As it falls it reminds my past. As it broke it totally took where I was from. Reminded me the options which she threw that day. The option which I took made me to leave her. I did the best thing not only for me, for her too.
As a young boy, I always wished of joining Navy as I soon became the son of martyr father. That wish turned to passion. I did most of my schooling which runs under defense. So it was for sure that I was pounded by defense lifestyle. I loved it as this was the place where I belong.

It was the middle of the academic year. It’s very rare to expect new admissions. But she came and introduced herself to the class as Anjali. I loved that name. Before seeing her I was not aware that even eyes can be attractive and make you fall in love. But yes, they can do. Her attitude inside the class was not a friendly at all. She liked to be calm and composed. I don’t know made her. I never saw her parents at any of the teacher’s parents interaction. Even teachers cared least and that is something new.
A year passed and she got more mysterious. She was gorgeous by her looks, So opposite was her attitude. I had a very attractive physic at school, which normally attracted all the girls around. I am sure that even she did. So I went to her and proposed her saying “I love you, Anjali.” The reply from her side was instant saying “Find another one.” That was a shock for me. As that was the most unexpected answer I got. Because I was self-obsessed, I lived in an impression that no girl can ever reject my proposal. I was wrong, as here she is. It did hurt me a lot it not because she rejected my proposal but my ego got hurt. But I was soon fine.

We were in our last days of schooling. Many things changed, even she was comfortable with the environment now. It was our mutual friends who helped us to start a conversation all over again. She was mysterious at the start but as I started to understand her things were soothing. She was always calm by her side. I insisted her to speak out to know why her behavior so awkward compared to all teenagers of our age. The answer which I got was something which I never expected. Even her father was a martyr. Her mother always uses to disrespect armed forces as she lost her husband as he was the only hope for her family. Which gradually made her dislike the forces. The most surprising thing was that her mother refused to take compensation issued by the government. I was moved when I heard all this.
She gradually became closer and use to share everything from thereafter and she said “Maybe you are the only one whom I can trust. You bought a hope with you as you came into my life. Hope this hope stays forever as I am afraid to face this world all alone.” I loved her all again. As the school nearly came to an end we both became enough close to each other that I know what she loves and she knows what I hate. I never shared my ambitions with her as I was well aware what is going to happen. After meeting her she made me believe that I can love a person twice.

My story came to a trouble when I came to know that my ambition can be trouble for her. I explained my dream to her but she realize how much dedicated I am for this. But her hate which she inherited from her mother made her ignore my words. She gave me two options.

first “Either you are going to stay with me as my guy only or
secondly you are going out and serve your country you decide.”

I consoled her told her that it will never be a wise decision to ignore any one of the choices which she gave but she had an explanation of her own. “I don’t want to lose you. What your force gave to me and my mother just a badge pinned to my father body at his funeral and name carved on the stone right? It is me and my mother who suffered every night.” I said “even my dad was martyr what my country gave to me was the infinite hope and we receive a respect from my countrymen which very few earn. Not today but you will understand my word soon.” “So what’s your answer,” she asked.
“I will miss you for sure Anjali.”
Sravana.

Leave a Reply

